SAGES enables shared use of research facilities across Scotland, with the principles of access to these facilities at the home institutional rate at all SAGES members. A review of SAGES facilities has recently been completed and SAGES partners are investing in new equipment and facilities. Those facilities available to the shared facilities pool are listed here.

SAGES Facilities

Theme 1 – Landscape Form, Use and Change: a dynamic Earth
Equipment Status Institution Contact Details
Particle Size Analyser New Aberdeen c.w.taylor@abdn.ac.uk
Differential GPS New Glasgow Kenny.Roberts@glasgow.ac.uk
Fission Track Automation New Glasgow Cristina.Persano@glasgow.ac.uk
Agilent 7500 ICP-MS New SUERC v.olive@suerc.ac.uk
Differential GPS Existing Dundee j.s.rowan@dundee.ac.uk
14C – GCMS Existing Glasgow Jaime.Toney@glasgow.ac.uk
AFTA Referbishment Existing Glasgow Cristina.Persano@glasgow.ac.uk
Digital Geoscience Centre Existing Glasgow Zhenhong.Li@glasgow.ac.uk
Laser ablation & solution ICP-MS Existing St Andrews acc@st-andrews.ac.uk
Luminescence Dating Equipment Existing St Andrews rajr@st-andrews.ac.uk
Tree-ring Measuring Systems Existing St Andrews rjsw@st-andrews.ac.uk
Cosmo Isotope Prep. Lab Existing SUERC dylan.rood@glasgow.ac.uk
Focused Laser Facility Existing SUERC f.stuart@glasgow.ac.uk
Theme 2 – Carbon & Biogeochemical Cycles: Sustaining Life
Equipment Status Institution Contact Details
Micro-CT Laboratory New Abertay w.otten@abertay.ac.uk
2 x Eddy Covariance Systems New Edinburgh J.Moncrieff@ed.ac.uk
2 x Fast Methane Analysers New Edinburgh jgrace@ed.ac.uk
Forest Observatory New Edinburgh jgrace@ed.ac.uk
Remote Sensing Hardware and Software New Edinburgh I.H.Woodhouse@ed.ac.uk
Spectroradiometer New Edinburgh Caroline.Nichol@ed.ac.uk
DOC Analyser 55 New Glasgow Susan.Waldron@glasgow.ac.uk
IRM-LC/MS New St Andrews acc@st-andrews.ac.uk
SEM/EDS Detector New Stirling c.a.wilson@stir.ac.uk
3D Virtual Cave Existing Abertay R.Falconer@abertay.ac.uk
Hig Res Tomography Existing Abertay w.otten@abertay.ac.uk
Aerial Photography System Existing Edinburgh twade@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Airborne Greenhouse Gas Analyser Existing Edinburgh twade@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Airborne Hyperspectral Imaging System Existing Edinburgh Caroline.Nicol@ed.ac.uk
Airborne Meteorological System Existing Edinburgh twade@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Research Aircraft Existing Edinburgh twade@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Turnable Diode Laser Existing Edinburgh jgrace@ed.ac.uk
Clean Lab Infrastructure Existing St Andrews acc@st-andrews.ac.uk
Dissolved Inorganic Carbon Analyser Existing St Andrews na9@st-andrews.ac.uk
Laser ablation & solution ICP-MS Existing St Andrews acc@st-andrews.ac.uk
Stable Isotope Mass Spec Existing St Andrews acc@st-andrews.ac.uk
Tree-ring Measuring Systems Existing St Andrews rjsw@st-andrews.ac.uk
ICPMS, GIS Existing UWS Andrew.Hursthouse@uws.ac.uk
Theme 3 – Atmosphere, Oceans and Climate: the fluid Earth
Equipment Status Institution Contact Details
Gamma Spectrometer New Dundee j.s.rowan@dundee.ac.uk
RaDeCC Short-lived Radium Counter New Edinburgh Walter.Geibert@ed.ac.uk
X-ray Multispectral Core Scanner New SAMS John.Howe@sams.ac.uk
Micromill New SUERC a.boyce@glasgow.ac.uk
Centre for Research on Water Existing Dundee a.werritty@dundee.ac.uk
CHASM Existing Dundee a.z.black@dundee.ac.uk
Scanning Spectrophotometer Existing Dundee j.s.rowan@dundee.ac.uk
ICO-OES + Mass Spec 250 Existing Edinburgh Walter.Geibert@ed.ac.uk
Environmental SEM 285 Existing Glasgow Peter.Chung@glasgow.ac.uk
Mega-corer, U-Wave Digester, Splitter Existing SAMS Mark.Inall@sams.ac.uk
Sea-going Equipment Store Existing SAMS Finlo.Cottier@sams.ac.uk
Dissolved Inorganic Carbon Analyser Existing St Andrews na9@st-andrews.ac.uk
Laser ablation & solution ICP-MS Existing St Andrews acc@st-andrews.ac.uk
Luminescence Dating Equipment Existing St Andrews rajr@st-andrews.ac.uk
Tree-ring Measuring System Existing St Andrews rjsw@st-andrews.ac.uk
AMS Existing SUERC s.freeman@glasgow.ac.uk
Side-scan Sonar Existing SAMS John.Howe@sams.ac.uk
AUV Oceanographic Existing SAMS Mark.Inall@sams.ac.uk
AUV Multibeam Existing SAMS John.Howe@sams.ac.uk
Gliders Existing SAMS Mark.Inall@sams.ac.uk
ROV Existing SAMS kim.last@sams.ac.uk
RPA Existing SAMS Philip.Anderson@sams.ac.uk
Piccaro Oxygen Isotope Seawater Analyser Existing SAMS richard.abell@sams.ac.uk
ICP-MS + Seafast Pico System Existing SAMS tim.brand@sams.ac.uk
ICP-OES Existing SAMS tim.brand@sams.ac.uk
Gamma Spectroscopy Existing SAMS tim.brand@sams.ac.uk